2022 Isle of Man TT start numbers announced

No data was found

Start numbers for the 2022 Isle of Man TT have just been announced for the Superbike and Senior TT races (and they’ll probably be the same for the Superstock race).

Leading the boys off will be the familiar sight of 23-time TT winner John McGuiness on a Honda, who’ll be followed by the less familiar sight of Dean Harrison on his new-look DAO racing Kawasaki.

Michael Rutter’s next at number three, followed by Hutchy at number four and James Hillier at number five.

Number six will be Michael Dunlop, the 19-time TT winner, on his PBM Ducati. There’s a good chance that’ll be one of the fastest bikes on the island this year; it’s one thing being the fastest though, but actually finishing a TT is something completely different.

Gaz Johnson starts number seven on his BMW, in front of Davy Todd at number eight on the Padgett’s Honda and Davo Johnson on his Yamaha at number nine.

Bookies favourite Peter Hickman’s FHO Racing BMW will be starting with its usual number ten on it, so I expect the lanky Lincolnshire lad to be doing a fair bit of overtaking during the six lap Superbike and Senior TTs.

Connor Cummins starts eleventh, after running the number one plate for a few years, and he’ll be followed by Jamie Coward, Lee Johnston, Phil Crowe and Sam West, in that order.

Rounding out the top twenty are Dom Herbertson, Brian McCormack, Dereck Sheils, Shaun Anderson and Craig Neve, again, in that order.

And if anyone’s interested, I’ll be starting the 2022 Superbike, Senior and Superstock TTs at number 31. Incidentally, that’s the same number I started with in 2019, but for some reason a little bit further down the order than I would have started, should the TT have gone ahead back in 2020 (when they gave me number 27); they must think I’ve got slower over the last few years. It’s not like I’ve got a complex about it or anything…

Anyway, here’s the Superbike and Senior TT start numbers for the people that count.

TT 2022

1John McGuinnessHonda Racing UK
2Dean HarrisonDAO Racing Kawasaki
3Michael RutterBathams Ales BMW
4Ian Hutchinson Milwaukee BMW Motorrad
5James HillierRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha
6Michael DunlopPBM Ducati
7Gary JohnsonSpecsavers/NL Motorcycles BMW
8Davey ToddMilenco by Padgett’s Motorcycles Honda
9David JohnsonRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha
10Peter HickmanGas Monkey Garage by FHO Racing BMW
11Conor CumminsMilenco by Padgett’s Motorcycles Honda
12Jamie CowardKTS Racing powered by Steadplan Yamaha
13Lee JohnstonAshcourt Racing BMW
14Philip CroweHandtrans Haulage/Nigel Appleyard BMW
15Sam WestThe Street Diner BMW
16Dominic HerbertsonHaith BMW
17Brian McCormackFHO Racing BMW/The Roadhouse Macau
18Derek SheilsThe Roadhouse Macau BMW
19Shaun AndersonHawk Racing Suzuki
20Craig NeveCallmac Scaffolding BMW

It’s been two years since the last Isle of Man TT, and we’ve all missed it, but we don’t have long to wait now, just a couple of months. So if you haven’t booked yourself a ferry or a flight yet, what are you waiting for? And don’t forget that this year, for the first time ever, the TT races will be broadcast live via the TT+ channel, so if you can’t make it to the island, at least you can keep up to date with all the action in real time.

Right, I’ve got two months to finish building a race bike, find a sponsor and get myself over to the Isle of Man. I better crack on.


3 Responses

  1. No Bruce this year, bless him and wish him well. Wasn’t sure if he would be joining with what he’s been going through

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related COntent